Foodgasm!

Tonight’s dinner was spectacular enough to merit a blog post. It’s my sister-in-law’s birthday so in celebration, we tried out the international buffet at Melt – The World Cafe in Mandarin Oriental Singapore.

Before being distracted by the food selection, I was particularly impressed with the hotel’s elegantly futuristic interiors.

photo 1And then it was time to attack the buffet tables! True to its promise, Melt does offer a multi-cultural culinary feast. But it was mostly Asian – from sushi to tandoori to char siu.

photo 5

I skipped all that though and headed straight to the seafood section. After piling up prawns, scallops and lobsters on my plate, I spied on the cheese selection which immediately made me do a double take. As in literally. Right after finishing up my plate, I went back for a second helping of DIY cheese platter. I had manchego, camembert, brie de meaux and some goats cheese. To round it all off: crackers and grapes. Too bad, we didn’t have wine. 

Finally, dessert! There were fruits, rice cakes, waffles, cakes, and some other assortments that I got familiar with thanks to hours of watching MasterChef. As I was already stuffed, I just contented myself with 3 kinds of mousse, panna cotta and strawberries and marshmallows dipped in chocolate. Yes, I know that is still quite a lot.

Given another chance though, I would totally linger longer in the chocolate fountain and then order piles and piles of waffles topped with fresh ice cream. Heck, if I could I would bring home the chocolate fountain in a heartbeat!

photo (1)

Needless to say, I would sleep tonight with a more than satisfied tummy and a stupid smile on my soon to be bloated face.

Leave a Reply

